The church of the convent
The church of Sant’Anna is also called the Convent because it is annexed to the former sperlinghese monastery of the barefoot Augustinians, a religious order founded in 1593 in the “kingdom of the two Sicilies”, born from the Congregation of the Hermits of Centuripe, called the Hermits of Sicily. Giovanni Stefano Oneto, lord and duke of Sperlinga, followed the example of other Sicilian feudal lords and in 1679 offered the barefoot Augustinians to finance the “factory of said Convent and Church from the foundations to perfection, at their own expense” and to contribute to the maintenance and sustenance of the friars.
The father of graces
The Father of Graces is the Crucifix that is preserved in the church of the convent. Christ is called the Father of graces because he is carried in procession only for great events. At one time it was carried in procession to impetrate exceptional and extraordinary graces, such as rain during long periods of drought. The crucifix dominates the main altar of the church and is a valuable sculpture dating back to about the mid ‘700 when the Augustinians settled in the sperlinghese convent and officiated the church. It is the work of a late epigon of Fra’ Umile da Petralia, perhaps one of his best pupils, but not yet identified. In fact, it imitates some of the most recurrent expressive styles: the muscular body full of harmony, covered with hematomas, flaying and bloody bruises; the face covered with blood, framed by a beard, and carefully sculpted hair, sunken eyes, is the most evocative part of the sculpture.
Historic Places
Discover the historic places of Sperlinga, where every corner tells compelling stories. Immerse yourself in the rich cultural heritage, with each stone resonating with a timeless narrative.
The rock village
On the southern slope of the village is a system of caves connected by steps carved into the rock, now used for housing.
The church of San Giovanni Battista
The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was built between 1597 and 1610, thanks to the cooperation of the entire population of the village.
The church of the Madonna della Mercede
The church, dated around the mid-18th century, is dedicated to Our Lady of Mercede, whose cult appears in the early 1700s.
Baronial rooms and the ingrotted
This part of the castle, used as a dwelling in the 1500s, opens to ingrottati, used as storage, but originally used for religious purposes.
Defense Tower and Chapel
The Norman-era castle chapel houses some soldiers’ graves and features Byzantine and Catalan Gothic architectural elements.
The Castle
The rock site of Sperlinga Castle reveals traces of an important place of worship dating back to the Bronze Age.

Municipality of Sperlinga
Codice fiscale / P. IVA: 00114480866
PEC: protocollo@pec.comune.sperlinga.en.it
Contact center: Tel. 0935-643025 - Fax 0935-643119
Mobile: +39 347 913 1485





