The church of San Giovanni Battista
The construction of the main church of Sperlinga, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was built between 1597 and 1610, thanks to the collaboration of the entire population of the country, who contributed by transporting the stones on the mules for its construction from the nearby town of Purriera. It was the prince of Sperlinga, Giovanni Forte Natoli, who promoted its construction, drawing on the taxation imposed on the inhabitants, to increase its prestige. Its simple and linear architecture incorporates a previous Swabian tower with a hexagonal plan that interrupted the walls of the medieval village. This tower currently constitutes the apse. The church consists of a single nave and houses inside a valuable eighteenth-century painting, by an unknown author, depicting the deposition of Christ. There is also a nineteenth-century bellows organ, made by a workshop of organ makers from Palermo. Finally, there is the statue of Santa Liberata, whose cult is very much felt among the inhabitants. The procession takes place in August. Many come to the village from the nearby town of Nicosia after walking barefoot along the road that connects the two centers. The church is the seat of the Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament, whose origins date back to 1765.
The construction of the main church of Sperlinga, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was built between 1597 and 1610, thanks to the collaboration of the entire population of the country, who contributed by transporting the stones on the mules for its construction from the nearby town of Purriera. It was the prince of Sperlinga, Giovanni Forte Natoli, who promoted its construction, drawing on the taxation imposed on the inhabitants, in order to increase its prestige. Its simple and linear architecture incorporates a previous Swabian tower with a hexagonal plan that interrupted the walls of the medieval village. This tower currently constitutes the apse. The church consists of a single nave and houses inside a valuable eighteenth-century painting, by an unknown author, depicting the deposition of Christ. There is also a nineteenth-century bellows organ, made by a workshop of organ makers from Palermo. Finally, there is the statue of Santa Liberata, whose cult is very much felt among the inhabitants. The procession takes place in August. Many come to the village from the nearby town of Nicosia after walking barefoot along the road that connects the two centers. The church is the seat of the Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament, whose origins date back to 1765.
Historic Places
Discover the historic places of Sperlinga, where every corner tells compelling stories. Immerse yourself in the rich cultural heritage, with each stone resonating with a timeless narrative.
The rock village
On the southern slope of the village is a system of caves connected by steps carved into the rock, now used for housing.
The church of the Madonna della Mercede
The church, dated around the mid-18th century, is dedicated to Our Lady of Mercede, whose cult appears in the early 1700s.
The church of the convent
St. Anne’s Church is also called the Convent Church, because it was attached to the former Sperlingian coenoby of the Augustinians.
Baronial rooms and the ingrotted
This part of the castle, used as a dwelling in the 1500s, opens to ingrottati, used as storage, but originally used for religious purposes.
Defense Tower and Chapel
The Norman-era castle chapel houses some soldiers’ graves and features Byzantine and Catalan Gothic architectural elements.
The Castle
The rock site of Sperlinga Castle reveals traces of an important place of worship dating back to the Bronze Age.

Municipality of Sperlinga
Codice fiscale / P. IVA: 00114480866
PEC: protocollo@pec.comune.sperlinga.en.it
Contact center: Tel. 0935-643025 - Fax 0935-643119
Mobile: +39 347 913 1485





